Local News

Senate Clears Air on Alleged Proposed Creation of 20 New States

The Nigerian Senate has reacted to viral reports that its committee on constitution review is proposing the creation of 20 new states, Globalgistng reports.

According to the upper chamber, this is nothing but gross misunderstanding and misrepresentation of the committee’s position.

The Senate’s spokesman, Ajibola Basiru, who spoke with journalists on Sunday, August 8, clarified that the House has no power to make such a recommendation, Channels TV reports.

Senator Basiru explained that what the committee only did was to “refer the requests to INEC to ensure compliance with section 8 of the constitution by conducting a referendum in the areas if the requests supported by at least two-thirds majority of members in the Senate, the House of Representatives and the House of Assembly in the area.”

Report making the round indicated that the Senate committee on constitution review had recommended that 20 new states be created.

The committee reportedly reached this decision after it considered various factors including the ability of civilian administration to create states.

Sources told The Nation that referendum may be conducted for no fewer than 20 states. Several bills for the creation of new states had been submitted to the committee on review of the 1999 constitution.

However, making clarification on the bills proposing the creation of new states, Ajibola Basiru, spokesperson of the Senate, said the committee received the proposals but never made any recommendation, The Cable reports.

BREAKING: Fire These Long-Serving Service Chiefs, Senate Tells Buhari Over Borno Killings

The committee had reportedly recommended state status for the FCT. The list of requests for new states is said to be quite long. They are:

ITAI State from Akwa Ibom

Katagum state from Bauchi

Okura state from Kogi East

Adada state from Enugu

Gurara state from Kaduna South

Ijebu State from Ogun

Ibadan state from Oyo

Tiga state from Kano

Ghari state from Kano

Amana state from Adamawa

Gongola state from Adamawa

Mambilla state from Taraba

Savannah state from Borno

Okun state from Kogi

Etiti state from the southeast zone

Orashi state from Imo and Anambra

Njaba from the present Imo state or the excision of Aba state from Abia

Anioma state from Delta Torogbene and Oil River states, from Bayelsa, Delta and Rivers states

Bayajida state from parts of Katsina, Jigawa and Zamfara

Governor Uzodinma says Igbo people want 6th state

Governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo state is one of the people advocating for an additional state for the southeast region, The Punch reports.

According to him, the creation of a sixth state for the region will make the Igbo people very proud.

While geopolitical zones have at least six states, the southeast has five, Imo, Enugu, Ebonyi, Abia and Anambra.

The last time states were created in Nigeria was on October 1, 1996, by the late military head of state, General Sani Abacha. The states created were Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Ekiti, Gombe, Nasarawa and Zamfara.

Northeast stakeholders demand creation of Savannah state

With the ongoing 1999 constitution review, stakeholders from the northeast region have called for the creation of a new state.

The stakeholders said the creation of the new state would help curtail the various crisis and unrest bedevilling the nation.

According to the group, the call for the creation of Savannah state was made in 1991 alongside Yobe but was denied.


Contact/Whatsapp No: +2348137451665, Twitter: @globalgistng1, Facebook: globalgistng, Email: globalgistng@gmail.com
Back to top button