Local News

BREAKING: Buhari names new EFCC secretary, appoints board members after 6 years

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed George Abang Ekpungu, as the Secretary of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

The appointment is for a fresh tenure of five years.

Umar Gwandu, spokesman to Justice Minister, Abubakar Malami, made the announcement in a statement Monday night.

Buhari also appointed board members of the anti-graft agency chaired by Abdulrasheed Bawa.

Buhari Unbundles EFCC, ICPC; Sends Bill To Create New Agency

They are Luqman Muhammad (South South), Anumba Adaeze (South East), Kole Raheem Adesina (North Central) and Yahya Muhammad (North East).

The appointment is in line with Section 2 (1) and Section 4 of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission Act, 2004.

Gwandu recalled that the “EFCC has been operating without board members since 2015”.

President Buhari has directed that all names be forwarded to the Senate for confirmation.


Contact/Whatsapp No: +2348137451665, Twitter: @globalgistng1, Facebook: globalgistng, Email: [email protected]

Related Articles

Back to top button