Local News

INEC publishes names of candidates for the Edo guber election{full list}

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has published a preliminary list of gubernatorial candidates for the September 19 gubernatorial election in Edo state.

The list includes the names of candidates for Governor from 14 political parties – 13 men and one woman.

In a statement, Festus Okoye, National Commissioner of INEC and Chairman of the voter information and education Committee, called on members of the public to familiarize themselves with the nomination forms, affidavits and documents submitted by parties on behalf of their candidates.

He said that any person who has reasonable grounds to believe that any information in the affidavit or any document submitted by any candidate is false can file a lawsuit against such candidates, requiring a statement that the information contained in the affidavit is false.

“At the end of the nomination process at 6p.m. on June 29, 2020, 14 political parties used the Commission’s special online portal to submit a list of candidates who had withdrawn from their primaries,” he said.

“A preliminary list of candidates, disaggregated by name, gender, age and qualifications, has been uploaded to our website and social media platforms. In addition, in accordance with the requirements of the law, information about the nominated candidates will be published in the state office of the Edo Commission and simultaneously uploaded to our website on Thursday, July 2, 2020.

“The final list of duly nominated candidates will be published on August 13, 2020, after the candidates are removed and replaced by political parties.”

Also Read: Buhari: Nigeria is in a terrible state of backwardness

Below is a list:

AA: Obhafuoso Paul, E Governor; Sunday johnbull-Deputy Governor
ADC: Akhigbe B Ehiabhi-Governor; Mabel oboh-Deputy Governor
ADP: Ibio L Emmanuel-Governor; Desmond Imasuen-Deputy Governor
APC: Andrew Osagie Ize-Iyamu: Governor; Ganiyu Audu- Deputy Governor
APGA: Lucky Osagie Idehen-Governor; Isah Asekhaimeh-Deputy Governor
APM: Igbineweka Osamuede-Governor; Obiyan Christian-Deputy Governor
APP: Amos Osalumese of Areloegbe-Governor; Afolabi Ogah-Deputy Governor
LP: Osifo Uhun-Ekpenma Isaiah- Governor; Omobayo marvelous-Deputy Governor
NNPP: Agolebun Tracy-Governor; Enobhaysobi Jonathan as Deputy Governor
NRM: Stevie Nash Ozono-Governor; Osadolor Eghe Festus-Deputy Governor
PDP: Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki-Governor; Philip Shaibu-Deputy Governor
SDP: Felix Ikezor Obayangbon-Governor; Omion Omonye-Deputy Governor
YPP: Jones Osagiobare-Governor; Samson Idowu Olukayode-Deputy Governor
ZPP: Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena-Governor; Thompson Osadolor-Deputy Governor

Global Gist Nigeria


Contact/Whatsapp No: +2348137451665, Twitter: @globalgistng1, Facebook: globalgistng, Email: [email protected]

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: