Local News

Nigerians are excluded from the list of allowed travelers to Europe after the border opens

The European Union Commission has removed Nigeria from the list of countries whose citizens will be allowed to enter the region after the borders open on July 1.

European countries closed their borders when the COVID-19 pandemic spread to the region.

With the easing of blocking restrictions, the EU has published a draft list of 54 countries that will be granted entry to borders.

Updated countries included in the list of countries to enter Europe include Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, and New Zealand.

Others are Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China.

On June 11, the European Commission asked its member to extend the ban on third-country nationals until June 30.

Also Read: AccessBank to cancel stamp duty deductions for February-April

The United States, Brazil and Russia were also excluded from the approved list.

Eric Mamer, a spokesman for the European Commission, said the criteria used to select countries are based on their health status.

“The European Union has an internal process to determine which countries would be safe to accept travelers from,” he said.

Global Gist Nigeria


Contact/Whatsapp No: +2348137451665, Twitter: @globalgistng1, Facebook: globalgistng, Email: [email protected]

Related Articles

Back to top button